Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The All things ROAD KING SPECIAL THREAD

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2024 | 05:03 PM
paws619
Intermediate

Originally Posted by cbifolco
I have a 2021 RKS. I just put a thundermax in and am looking at getting rid of my V&H Dresser Duals for Gallop Motorcycles 2-1's. Can't decide if I want to do shorties or full length (im not worried about having cutouts in my bags that are not filled). Also with that being said - I would be interested in just going directly to stage 2 and would like some information/feedback on what would work best for my setup (2-1 full length or 2-1 shorty). I am looking to keep my low-mid range torque but also want a good pull in the high range, and pairing good with similar gains in hp. Any feedback, suggestions would be awesome as I'm just learning as I'm going.
I can't offer any insight to the setup you are looking into, I went all HD when I did my air-cam-fuel-exhaust. However, dropping off my bike last week at my indi shop for some post ride stuff, we got into just this conversation as he was showing me bike he was building for a customer. As it relates to the set up, I can say it is very important to 1) KNOW what you want, like bouncing off the rev limiter horsepower or two up loaded on a week get away torque to pass cars with ease. and 2) KNOW the guy who is going to build, tune and dyno the bike. Been with my guy for like 20 years and he has worked on all my Harleys, my Buell and my custom hardtail. Having a mechanic you can trust to tell you their truth and still wil listen to your desires I feel is the most important step in getting what you really want.

The following users liked this post:
Charlie K (05-27-2024)
Old 05-27-2024 | 05:17 PM
Oil, Gas & Leather
Road Warrior

Originally Posted by paws619