Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is the correct way to check oil level?

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-2016, 04:04 PM
ElectraJim
Road Warrior

Received 658 Likes on 357 Posts
Default What is the correct way to check oil level?

I apologize in advance for the newb question. I'm new to the HD world.

Just bought an '07 Electra Glide Ultra Classis with a 96CI motor. I'm still not 100% clear on checking engine oil levels. All I have read is to check it on the "jiffy stand" as HD calls it.

Should I be checking the level when the engine is warm or cold? I'm afraid I may have over filled it. I had changed oil and filter this weekend and added 3.5 qts of Amsoil 20W-50. It seemed a little low. I added a little more when it was cold and used almost 4 qts. The level was right on the top mark. After looking at the dipstick more closely(and now I'm beginning to feel like a dipstick ), I noticed it stated the top of the mark is supposed to be read when hot.

Suggestions?

Old 08-16-2016, 04:21 PM
semiret
Tourer
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

I copied this from the on-line 2007 touring owners manual

Oil Level Cold Check
Perform engine oil level COLD CHECK as follows:
  1. For preride inspection, place vehicle on level ground and rest the vehicle on its jiffy stand (unless sidecar is attached).
  2. Turn filler plug/dipstick counterclockwise. Remove and wipe off the dipstick. Insert the dipstick back into the oil pan with the plug screwed completely into the fill spout.
  3. See Engine Oil Dipstick. Remove the dipstick and verify the level of the oil. The correct oil level should register between the two marks on the dipstick. If sidecar is attached, check oil level using the opposite side of dipstick as shown in Engine Oil Dipstick (Sidecar Use).
NOTE: