Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some expert advice on a Road King ...

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2015 | 12:02 AM
mgovinda
|
Stage IV
Default Need some expert advice on a Road King ...

Hello guys,

I am a new member here. I have 2007 sportster nightster, bought it new in 2007 and I have been riding the nightster since 2007 and I love it. My only handicap is I am really short only 5'2'' and 128lbs. In my sporty I can almost flat foot and never had any issues at all these years even taking my wife as passenger (she is 5'4" and 140lb). My dream is to buy a road king and do a trip to the pacific west cost highway (hwy 101) with my wife. I really like the softail deluxe but, I could not get my mind off of the road king ... I just like it so much. What would be your expert advice if I can get the super reduced reach seat, change handlebars with better reach and lower progressive shocks will the bike be manageable for someone my size. I have lived my life so far not really caring about my height but now I really feel frustrated. I live in the beautiful colorado where I can ride almost 10 months in a year. My 50th birthday is next May, I want to get all my research completed and try to get a road king by then or a softail deluxe as I need a comfortable ride the sporty ride is not kind to my back.

I would like to hear your expert advice ...if there are other short guys in the forum please help out another short dude ...

MG

Old 09-20-2015 | 12:26 AM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member

look at a dyna series- rubbermount, lower lighter than a touring bike-

the roadking is almost 800 pounds, and high and wide...yes, you could lower the suspension, but then you have...less suspension.

and a seat with less padding...then you have less seat.

I'm not saying you couldn;t handle a larger bike- but would it be fun...?