Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Popping exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2015, 01:02 PM
Chucky55
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Popping exhaust

Hi everyone! I am a newbie...rode many years ago and just getting back into it...just bought a 99 ultraclassic, and learning many things here on the forums! Would like to pose a couple of questions...

The bike pops/backfires badly when downshifting or with rapid throttle closure (fuel injected)...previous owner said it has always done so, and a friend (Vrod owner) took it for a test ride and didn't think anything was wrong. But in reading some posts, I am seeing where certain mufflers create a lot of "popping" and it's got me wondering!!!....and so leads me to my next question:

Can someone please identifiy what exhaust/mufflers I have here? I assume probably stock/original but not sure.

Thanks in advance! You'all are great!!
Chucky

Attached Thumbnails Popping exhaust-3-.jpg   Popping exhaust-018.jpg   Popping exhaust-745.jpg  
Old 08-13-2015, 01:12 PM
fatboy slim
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Take a better shot of the mufflers.

For the most part, popping is normal.

Old 08-13-2015, 01:30 PM
RG Pilot
Road Warrior
Received 301 Likes on 217 Posts

Those are not stock mufflers. The popping can be caused by a couple of things: Exhaust leak allowing fresh air into the exhaust system causing combustion of unburned fuel and/or improper tuning of the EFI system. Is there a tuner on the bike or did it ever have a custom tune? One option is to get a flash tuner and it will dial in the tune for you depending on your exhaust, intake or other mods.

Old 08-13-2015, 02:11 PM
Hukamosh
Cruiser