Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Air Intake 2015 Road King

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2015, 10:29 PM
rickurt
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Intake 2015 Road King

Greetings. I just bought a 2015 Road King and have a question regarding buying an air intake (BTW, I am a rookie). I don't want to go through an entire Stage One mod because I don't want my bike to be too loud (my job requires me to protect my hearing). I thought about buying an air intake filter for the looks more than to increase my bike's performance. Do I need to buy also the tuner and take it to a mechanic for installation? If I don't buy aftermarket pipes, do I need to adjust the mixture? I wouldn't mind increasing the noise just a bit, but it is not my primary objective. Thanks.

Old 03-17-2015, 12:33 AM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member
Received 398 Likes on 340 Posts

welcome to the forums

starting with the 2014 the air cleaner was redesigned and flows "15%" more then the previous.

for your requirements the stock air cleaner will work just fine- really.

the reason we change the air cleaner is to allow more flow into the motor, the older a/c was a limiting factor as is the catalytic convertor in the header pipes...so many of us remove the obstructions to flow to realize a power gain of 7 to 10 horsepower...better than 10%.

you would see little net flow change with the cat in the header, so no practical reason to change

one thing about the big honkin' air cleaner is that it is hiding some ugly wiring and plugs on the throttle body ( as you look at it, the 8 o'clock position)

it also muffles sound- the air rushing into an unmuffled intake is all high frequency information...hello tinnitus

so I suggest you ride on and enjoy the bike the way it is- keep it warranty-compliant and you'll be worry free.