Notices
Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bike wouldn't downshift this evening.

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2015, 07:28 PM
yones12
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bike wouldn't downshift this evening.

Picked up my bike (2010 SG) from the HD today. Had a new outer primary/crankcase cover installed. Drove back to work fine. When i left work this evening i came to a stop sign and when i tried to shift from 3rd to 1st my shifter wouldn't catch 2nd gear. I sat at the stop sign for a few minutes playing with the shifter. I tried to up shift and downshift, even let the clutch out a few times and it still wouldn't catch. Finally i had to pull out in 3rd gear, once i got down the road i was able to down shift and up shift. I called the dealer and let them know. I have little experience as this is my first Harley, but i did however read that the primary has to have the right amount of oil (too little or too much will cause it not to catch? Since they had to install a new primary/crankcase cover, they had to change the fluid so maybe they didn't put the right amount. Anyone else ever experience this or have knowledge on this?
Thanks,

Old 02-18-2015, 07:43 PM
EasTexUltra12
Road Master
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

From your description it sounds like you roll up to stop signs, stop and then down shift. You'll find that it will work better if you down shift as you're coming to a stop hitting first just before you stop rolling. Tranny is happier if it's turning over while you're shifting.

David

Old 02-18-2015, 07:56 PM
yones12
Intermediate

Originally Posted by EasTexUltra12