Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How many times is a primary chain adjustmenr needed

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2014, 10:25 AM
semiret
Tourer
Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
Default How many times is a primary chain adjustmenr needed

In reading thru these posts, it seems that the automatic primary chain adjuster I currently have on my 2011 RK may cause premature bearing wear

To hopefully prevent this, I have been thinking about getting the Baker attitude adjuster, or something similiar, for my bike.

The $200.00 for the adjuster seems a bit stiff, but if it will help bearing wear, it may be worth it.

However, I'm having a hard time justifying spending the $1000.00 for the Baker cover so I can adjust the primary chain. I can buy alo9t of primary cover gaskets for $1000.00.

I am relatively new to the Harley world and have never owned a bike that had the manual primary chain adjusters.

So, my question:
- How often does the primary chain need to be adjusted??

Thank you
Steve

Old 11-18-2014, 10:50 AM
mkguitar
Extreme HDF Member
Received 398 Likes on 340 Posts

on evos, check about 5000 miles....not that I had to make an adjustment at each check.

The primary chain will have tight and loose areas-...make sure the tight parts are not tighter than spec...the loose parts might be sloppy.

I swapped both my Evos to the Hayden M6, about the best $75 I spent on those bikes.

smoother downshifts, no snatching or grabbing in low speed operation. a simple spring keeps tension correct. Both my evos, the original plastic shoe was about worn out at 50,000 miles or so--- the Hayden comes with it's own shoe.
( that's the evo version- I have not used the twin cam version)

The evos had a primary inspection cover in the primary, so easy to adjust.

Mike

Last edited by mkguitar; 11-18-2014 at 11:02 AM.