Touring Models Road King, Road King Custom, Road King Classic, Road Glide, Street Glide, Electra Glide, Electra Glide Classic, and Electra Glide Ultra Classic bikes.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How stiff are your wheel bearings?

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2014 | 07:42 AM
foxtrapper
|
HDF Community Team
Veteran: NavyVeteran: National Guard
Community Team
Default How stiff are your wheel bearings?

My 04 RK has very stiff wheel bearings, especially the rear. They are dead smooth in their motion, just bloody stiff. I've no Harley background, so I just don't know if this is actually normal for Harley wheel bearings. They move smoothly and quietly and there is no heat buildup when riding. Just darn stiff. There is no casual spinning of the wheels.

Old 11-07-2014 | 08:20 AM
grbrown
Club Member

Have you checked them in the bike or with the wheel removed? My Buell recently needed new bearings front and rear, but to be honest it was the tyre fitter, not me, who discovered that while installing new tyres.

Old 11-07-2014 | 08:23 AM
foxtrapper
|
HDF Community Team
Veteran: NavyVeteran: National Guard
Community Team

Yes, this is off the bike as well. Perfectly smooth and silent, just quite stiff. Just don't know if this is a weird Harley type thing. Normally, I'd expect the bearings to be loose at this point (10 years and 50+k miles). But, I've been surprised by other things, so I don't want to buy another set of bearings only to find them just as stiff.

Old 11-07-2014 | 09:26 AM
lt1-xjs
Road Master

They should spin like a top, with 50k on the clock I would replace them.
Harley # 9247.

Old 11-07-2014 | 09:43 AM
hvacgaspiping
Seasoned HDF Member
Veteran: Navy

I would suspect they are permanent bearings with as little grease in them as possible. However, if they have close tolerances they should last awhile.

Old 11-08-2014 | 08:49 AM
dougbk
Road Master

I suspect that whomever installed them pressed the second bearing in too tight against the spacer.