The General Motorcycle Forum Talk about motorcycles that are not Harleys in here
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buy A Harley, CHANGE your lifestyle??

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2013, 09:27 AM
DM1975
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

To me it always seems like their are people out there that are more concerned with playing dress up than actually riding. I understand wanting to wear leather riding gear for protection, but for some it seems like it is all just fashion accessories.

You can take and dress these guys up and stick them right next to a real biker dressed alike and can tell the difference between the two immediately. Mainly because it isn't about the close you wear or the words you say, but more the attitude and actions that tell the story.

In the end I guess it all really doesn't matter. I do my thing, you do yours, and we all enjoy riding our bikes. I've been riding for over twenty years and have friends that just recently got into it, but I don't think any less of them because they just started riding. We all make it here at our own pace. Some of them are just the same as before they started riding and some of them it seems like it was a defining moment in their life and things changed for them. A couple of them seem really more interested in "looking" like a biker than anything and that's ok, but I do think its kinda silly. Not that they changed the way they dress, but more so that they let that aspect of it define them.

I don't let this stuff bother me, it's just my observations. Their is definitely a biker lifestyle though. Anyone that doesn't see that just doesn't have a clue. Not everyone that rides a bike fits in that lifestyle and maybe that hurts some of their feelings, who knows. I don't see why it would, you don't have to be a biker to enjoy motorcycles or ride all the time, but enjoying motorcycles and riding all the time doesn't make you a biker.