The General Motorcycle Forum Talk about motorcycles that are not Harleys in here
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shaved Heads and Goatees

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2011, 12:13 PM
Older Biker
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Shaved Heads and Goatees

Curiosity.
I have noticed a trend in recent years that more and more bikers are shaving their heads and wearing goatees.

When I started riding back in the 60's, we all wore long hair and some type of facial hair. I myself have worn a full beard ever since the 60's and still have my long pony tail, although the hair is starting to get a bit scarcer.

I know that with a shaved head, you don't have to worry as much about the wind blowing your hair, "that's why I tie my hair and beard when I ride. I also know that some bikers started shaving their heads for work, when companies started using hair for drug tests, but wearing the goatee would defeat the purpose of shaving your head. So, bottom line here, I would like to hear from people that have the shaved head and goatee to find out what the attraction is and why you personally started shaving your head.

I figure a couple of more years and I nature will remove all the hair on the top of my head, so I'll fit right in, but I don't really want to convert the beard over to a goatee and IMHO a bald head combined with a full extra long beard just doesn't look that cool.

Old 01-03-2011, 12:29 PM
cdculbertson
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I went from long hair to a buzz cut (a 1.5 blade...not quite shaved, though my wife calls me "bald") many years ago on a dare. Been wearing it that way ever since because I got too lazy to want to deal with hair. I wear a goatee because I look 20 years older with a full gray beard, and my wife likes the goatee better too.