The Dyno Room A special room dedicated for Dyno tuning products, troubleshooting and results. All Gearheads and Dyno Operators are welcome here as well as the guys that are new to tuning. Please see the special rules for this section before posting.

THUNDERMAX: dyno tune + ThunderMax = maps, how?

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2016, 09:14 PM
amkaos
Road Warrior
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts
Default dyno tune + ThunderMax = maps, how?

credible ppl say there's only a handful of ppl. who can build a TM map from a dyno..
How is it done?
is it that complicated?
Does it need special cables?

Thx

Last edited by amkaos; 06-11-2016 at 09:16 PM.
Old 06-19-2016, 02:09 PM
Max Headflow
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 5,950 Likes on 4,031 Posts

I'm not an expert but have tuned a few builds on a dyno at a Beemer repair shop.. I mainly only to WOT tune to get an peak HP / TQ output.

The map has been typically run on the street for a bit and is whatever was closest to the build. I start by changing WOT timing to get best HP and then I override the AFR to one value and repeat trying to peak WOT HP adjusting the AFR globally. If it ends up being different than the AFRs in the tables, I reset the WOT setting in the tables..

At that point I declare it done as far as the Dyno goes and will tune the rest on the street as I have to pay for dyno time and I have a tendency to change things that change the tune.. If you can get plenty of dyno time, you can use the afr table and timing tables to peak performance at partial throttle positions..

One of the nice things about the Tmax is you can tune on the fly. Most flash program tuners require you stop and reload the map then test the results. On Tmax, you simple move the dot on the graph and the value changes in the module.. Steve Cole of TTS recently started allowing allow for changes on the fly but it only works on the later modules that have more free ram..