The Dark Side For those members running "Car Tires" on their scoots. This is for their discussion only and not a place for "non dark siders" to mouth off about their negative opinions of this idea!

Curious new biker

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2015, 07:42 AM
Harliquin
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Curious new biker

Hi I'm new to bikes and I've never heard of putting car tyres on bikes. Sorry for being ignorant but can some one tell me why you do it, what are the advantages? I like your no mouthing off rule but it means I can't find a thread where you say why you do it

Old 06-23-2015, 12:23 PM
rdm97apd
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The reason I switched on my previous bike, a GL1800, is mostly out of curiousity. The guys that ran them LOVED them, and the guys that have never put miles on a car tire hated them. I was extremely sceptical at first, as I had the same thoughts. A car tire does not have a round profile, so how can it possibly corner!? I rode behind a guy with a Michelin Alpine RF on his GL1800, and watched the tire intently. I was completely shocked when I noticed that with normal cornering (such as slight bends in the road that do not require big lean angles), the flat surface of the tire barely left the surface. It was at that moment that I realized the extreme amount of grip that could be attained with the car tire.

I followed him on a twisty road, with peg grinding corners, and was further shocked to see that the car tire had at least half of the flat surface of the tire on the road, and the rest of the tire would just bend and flex. This only peaked my curiousity more.