Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1200 Custom vs. Fourty-Eight???

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2014, 07:47 PM
LeoGast
Cruiser
Received 45 Likes on 34 Posts
Default 1200 Custom vs. Forty-Eight???

I'm brand new here. I'm taking a riding class in early September at a Harley dealership. My goal is to get comfortable enough to ride a 1200 sportster by the end of that 3 day class.

I have ridden dirt bikes in the past but it was a while ago.... I'm not brand new to riding but I am brand new to Harley.

Here is the rub: I really like the 1200 Custom and the Forty-Eight?

Has anyone owned both? Do they ride similarly?

Any help would be appreciated. And yes, I'll probably test drive both, but I'd like someone with experience to point out the subtleties of both.

Thank you

Last edited by LeoGast; 07-19-2014 at 07:49 PM. Reason: Spelling
Old 07-19-2014, 09:39 PM
Guzzi
Road Warrior
Received 105 Likes on 98 Posts

Let's see.....2 up verses solo.....plan on having any candy riding behind you?
4.5 compared to 2.1 gallon tank.....plan on riding or bar hopping?
Tubeless tires for the Custom.....tubed tires for the 48.
Granted the 48 has the best looks....the Custom is a better commuter/ long distance bike.
Recently had to choose between the two....Custom won because I didn't want to fill up every trip and a half to work (42 miles RT).
http://www.harley-davidson.com/conte...pare-bike.html

Old 07-19-2014, 10:24 PM
roncgizmo
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts