Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Suggestions for Upgraded Rear Shocks

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2007, 11:42 AM
DelawareDon
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for Upgraded Rear Shocks

Hi all! I'm new to this forum, but am enjoying reading and learning about my new 06 XL883, which I will take delivery of tomorrow afternoon. I have over 40 years of riding experience, including long-distance touring and successful completion of the Saddle Sore 1000, leading to membership in the International Iron Butt Association. I've owned and ridden Ducati's, Honda's, Yamaha's, BMW's, and about 6 years ago, I had a HD Ultra Classic. Now that I am older, my riding style has changed, as well as my desire to"wrestle" with bikes in the 700-900 lb. range. Due to personal circumstances, it will be highly unlikely that my wife and I will do any long-distance touring. Riding will be short day-trips and enjoyable leisurely jaunts on beautiful, winding back roads. My dilema is this: Both my wife and I are not lightweights.....In fact, our combined weight puts us very close to the maximum carrying capacity of the Sportster. Given that fact, I suspect that our OEM rear shocks will be stretched to and beyond their limit, even to the extent of occasionally bottoming out. With that in mind, what would you recommend as replacement shock absorbers, including air shocks if any are available for the 883....and who are vendors who offer products at a fair and resonable price?

I appreciate those who might have the knowledge and experience, and who take the time to respond. Many thanks.

Old 03-21-2007, 11:58 AM
capttawes
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Suggestions for Upgraded Rear Shocks

Hey Don,

Most everyone on here and other forums that upgrades their shocks including me all use Progressive Suspension.