Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Dead Battery!

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2007 | 01:06 AM
funkymonkey
|
Novice
Default New Dead Battery!

Hey Everyone!
I have had my 05 Sportster 1200 for a few months now and just last week I went out to go to work and it would not turn over. All gages and lights were on. Talked to a friend who owned bikes for a long time and he said to check the battery. Sure enough the battery was dead. Two days ago put a new battery in it and it ran fine on Monday....then this morning I started it up drove about 15 miles stopped to get gas and it would not start up again.It is sitting in my classroom (i am a teacher), but I can't get it home to work on it. Any suggestions on what to do next? I love riding and it is killing me to have to drive a car to work and back again!!

Old 03-21-2007 | 08:29 AM
cHarley
Club Member
Default RE: New Dead Battery!

First you need to get a charger on the battery either in or out for the bike. Once you get a full charge on it you could probable ride it home. If you do then recharge the battery again. Next, with the bike running and reved up a bit, measure the voltage across the battery terminals. It the charging circuit is working you should measure about 13.5 to 14 volts. If you measure 12.5 volts or less then the charging circuit isn't working.

Old 03-21-2007 | 11:10 AM
DelawareDon
Cruiser

Spending $39.95 for a Battery Tender Junior is one of the best purchases you will ever make.

Old 03-21-2007 | 11:46 AM
dsuppa
Road Captain

Even if the charging circuit isnt working you should still get more than 1 day before the battery is dead again. You more than likely have a power drain somewhere.

Old 03-21-2007 | 12:03 PM
cHarley
Club Member

ORIGINAL: dsuppa