Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Looking to buy an Iron 883- please help

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 02:55 AM
Inkarnetion
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to buy an Iron 883- please help

Hello, I'm Phani and am looking to join the HD community. I'm 25, 5'5" and 150 lbs. I have been riding for 5 years. My first bike was a virago 250 which I outgrew in about 3 months before riding a Ducati Monster 696 for a couple years. After that I got a Honda CBR 600RR and rode that for two years. I love sportbikes and I loved my 250cc cruiser. I came a cross what I consider to be a good deal on a 2011 Iron 883 with 5k miles, screaming eagle exhaust in 9/10 condition.

I absolutely loved the look of the bike when I checked it out in person, the guy wouldn't let me test ride it without money in hand so I am stuck. I would describe myself as a safe and experienced rider who can get a little throttle happy at times. After reading for a while, I am doubtful of the bike's power. I will use it to go around the city which involves getting on the highway.

The question for you guys (since I can't ride the iron 883 myself, for now) is:
Will the bike be to "slow" for me?
Will I find myself to be constantly wanting a "bit more?"
Will the change in ride and handling from a sportbike be too drastic for a person of my history?

Also, if the bike has 5k miles, is it coming up on service? How much will that be? Is it required? Do I have to take it to HD or can I take it to someone I know? Is it a good deal?

Thanks for reading and please help me out. I would love for you guys to quell my fears and me joining this community for some time to come.

Old 01-28-2014, 06:05 AM
Rog48
Elite HDF Member
Received 42 Likes on 38 Posts

Your honda is half the weight and 3 times the horsepower...................yes you will be disappointed.

Old 01-28-2014, 08:13 AM
triumph900