Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with installing new pipes and air cleaner

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2013, 03:34 AM
hitman1267
Cruiser
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Help with installing new pipes and air cleaner

I am new to Harley's. I bought a forty eight back in July and absolutely in love with her as my first motorcycle. I am looking to change the air cleaner for a screaming eagle heavy breather and am looking at a D&D bobcat exhaust. My question relates to the ECM. Should I install my parts then go to a dealership and have them download the the specs to my ECM? I have seen discussions of "SERT's" I have an idea of what they are but Im not sure how it works exactly. I went to my local dealership and they stated it would be around 400 bucks for a download and tune. Just checking for other ways to get this done. Thanks!

Old 10-06-2013, 05:15 AM
modular
Stellar HDF Member

Received 285 Likes on 184 Posts

I went with the Power Commander 5 from Fuel Moto. They will install a tune on the PCV before shipping it to you for your specs when you buy it from them. They also have lifetime updates if you change anything. For a bit more you can pop for the Power Vision as well. Read here:

http://www.fuelmotousa.com/harley

Old 10-06-2013, 06:31 AM
DougYITBOS
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I also have a power commander. I think mine is a 4.

I had to put the tune/map on myself but it was fairly easy.

I just plugged the Power Commander into a laptop, selected my air kit & pipe setup, and hit go to download the appropriate ecm map onto the system.