Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Advice on buying a 2008 Nightster

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2013, 08:10 AM
Wildcat Radiation
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on buying a 2008 Nightster

I'm a newbie here and might be purchasing my first Harley-Davidson soon from a private seller in Louisville. (I've been riding for 8 years and sold my first bike, a 2003 Suzuki SV650S, last month.) The bike in question is a 2008 Nightster with a little over 5,000 miles that has been, as the owner has stated, meticulously maintained. It's all Vivid black and appears stock save for the fork bag, inverted mirrors and header wrap. Beyond the usual points such as tires, etc. are there any particular things that I should be concerned about or aware of with this model if I go to check it out?

Also, can someone help explain the header wrapping? My understanding of it is basic at best. Is it really useful (as in improved performance, etc.) or mostly cosmetic?

Thanks in advance and I look forward to joining the H-D family. I live about 5 tenths of a mile from our local dealer (Man O War Harley) where there is a very active HOG chapter. My office-mate also bought his first H-D last year: 2002 XL883.

Old 05-24-2013, 08:29 AM
Kenny94945
Stellar HDF Member
Received 386 Likes on 324 Posts

Good dependable bike.
Reads well maintenace/ adult owned

Just look at the fuse box behind the side cover for evidence of water intrusion.
That's really the only concern issue.

As for aware of, many complain about the suspension and cornering lean angle (which is limited).

If you buy, get a factory service manual and give all the critical fasteners a check out.

Header wrap...on a mufflered vehccle my vote mostly cosmetic.

Old 05-24-2013, 10:45 AM
grbrown
Club Member
Received 2,867 Likes on 2,429 Posts
Red face

Originally Posted by Wildcat Radiation