Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

good idea to go synthetic

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2012, 08:24 PM
rquest
Road Master
Received 72 Likes on 64 Posts
Default good idea to go synthetic

Does anyone know if it's a good idea to put synthetic oil in an older Sportster? I've been told it may be to thin to provide adequate protection.

Old 12-05-2012, 08:47 PM
CaptainCalf
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by rquest
Does anyone know if it's a good idea to put synthetic oil in an older Sportster? I've been told it may be to thin to provide adequate protection.
I'm running M1 20w50 syn in my 1999. How old is yours?

Old 12-05-2012, 09:05 PM
nefdez
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default good stuff

I am new to motorcycles, so I'm basing my opinion solely on my automotive experience. There are plenty of advantages to running synthetic oil. It lubricates better than conventional, you get better fuel efficiency by reducing friction and increased heat dissipation. Overall your engine works smoother and lasts longer.

Old 12-05-2012, 09:34 PM
DOMAPOI
Stellar HDF Member
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts

Here we go again!

Old 12-05-2012, 10:49 PM
ev0lution7
Tourer
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by DOMAPOI
Here we go again!
Ya what he said!!!!

Old 12-06-2012, 06:51 AM
WVHogRider
Elite HDF Member

It's fine to switch to synthetic. The only thing is that it sometimes causes the top end to get a little louder. There's the old myth that changing to synthetic in an older engine would cause it to start leaking due to the synthetic cleaning all the gunk out of the engine that's kept it from leaking already.

Old 12-06-2012, 07:53 AM
1984_FXRT
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts