Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Weird throttle/bucking - please help

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2012, 12:35 PM
Pinarello Rider
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird throttle/bucking - please help

Hey all,
I'm new to HD and new to motorcycles, so I'm sorry if this has been covered before, but I'm having an issue I'd like some info on before I show up at a service place with a whole lot of "I don't knows".

I have a 2002 Sportster Hugger with Screamin Eagle pipes and intake. Prior to my last trip in for some work (needed a new primary cover, got intake gaskets replaced, and spark plugs replaced), my bike would feel like it lost fuel for a split second. The engine with stutter, reducing throttle, causing the bike to slow ever so slightly. It will pick right back up where it left off and continue on it's way, only to do it again a little while later. Since my trip for that work, it has gotten much worse. Today, on my commute in the morning, it was fine all the way in. I took a ride during lunch, and it happened A LOT. I am able to maintain speed, but I can't find any correlation between bike speed, engine speed, level of acceleration, or gear. I don't notice it when idling.

The few times that I have come up to the fuel reserve tank, the engine will sputter as it is having trouble getting fuel. This is what it feels like - it's that very first sputter. I checked my throttle cables and they are unencumbered, and I use 93 Octane only. I'm the 4th owner of the bike, the previous owner I know, and while he is a good guy, he wasn't great on maintenance.

Any thoughts? Is there a common issue with the throttle on a 10 year old bike? Thanks for your help!!!

Old 10-24-2012, 01:24 PM
chappy99
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

You might have water in your tank.

Old 10-24-2012, 01:28 PM
jimsflh
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts