Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Leaking after service, HELP identify

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2012, 11:24 AM
dayhunt85
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Leaking after service, HELP identify

I took my bike in for 7500 mile service, 08' 1200XLC. I have only put about 300 miles on since service and I just noticed multiple leaks. I am new to riding, this is my first bike, so I am not familiar with what is touched on each service. Regardless of that, these leaks did not exist prior to the service so I know where they came from and I know they are not good. The attached pic shows both locations. The main focus of the pic is what appears to be an over flow. The top of the case is covered in some lubricant, not sure what it is. I have made a red circle at the bottom of the pic. This plate also has lubricant leaking from it. Please help identify what is leaking and also help inform me before I go back to the shop and start pointing

fingers.

Old 08-20-2012, 12:10 PM
sioux565
Road Warrior
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

What you circled is the primary chain inspection cover. Is there oil around that cover, as in it is seeping out? There is a rubber gasket behind it that could not be seated right. If I were you, I would wash the bike good, especially around the engine. Then I would ride it for a while and check for leaks.

Old 08-20-2012, 12:16 PM
John Harper
HDF Community Team
Received 1,973 Likes on 1,345 Posts

Wish I could help, I don't seem to have that hose on my bike, if that's a picture of the right side rear cylinder. I just have open space between the rear cylinder and starter on that side.