Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Installing 2" Rush Pipes on 2008 883 Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2012, 07:07 AM
atrix883
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Installing 2" Rush Pipes on 2008 883 Sportster

Hi all,

Newbie here -- first harley. I am installing 2" Rush pipes on my sportster. I have noticed a few things and was looking for help to improve my bike, install the pipes correctly, and make future work on the bike go more smoothly. Here are my questions:

1. The existing exhast clamp does not seem to fit over the new rush pipes. Do I need to install the clamp at all? It appears there is a tight fit at the pipe connection and a good 1" or more of overlap.

2. Some of the screw clamps that hold on the chrome protectors over the exaust pipes (not sure of exact name) are rusted. I would like to get new ones. Where can I buy them?

3. Getting the stock front muffler off was a hassle. I noticed that as I was taking the stock muffler off, the header pipe rotated. I moved it back to the original place -- is this bad?

4. Is there some kind of grease I can use to help the pipes go on and off more smoothly?

That't it for now. Thanks in advance for your help!

Old 07-14-2012, 10:16 AM
Idaho Spud
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

1. Yes you should use clamps. they shold be the same, you just need to spread them out. You do not want exhaust leaks and given the heat, there is a lot of expansion/contraction going on.

2. They are just standard hose clamps. Any auto parts store will have them.

3. Maybe yes, maybe no. Again the culpret is exhaust leaks. There is a mesh gasket in the cylinder. As a practice, I replace mine whenever I do an exhaust job. Warning, there are also mesh gaskets in the crossover pipe that should have been replaced regardless. At a minimum you should retorque the exhaust flange bolts and check for leaks.