Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

93 sportster dies at idle

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2012, 11:31 AM
Punisherdave
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 93 sportster dies at idle

Hey all. Just joined the site was hoping for some possible insight to my problem. Just bought my first bike and learning to ride its a 93 sportser 883 with 26k on the dial. So my issue...with choke all the way in at idle the bike dies out. I can give it throttle and its fine but cant keep going with no throttle.

Ive done a little research but not sure where to go next. Im an automotive mechanic but never touched a bike before so im learning.

Checked basics, plugs good no intake leaks. Tried adjusting throttle/idle cables no difference. Drained bowl on carb, clean as a whistle. Carb cleaned everything and soaked jet still no difference. Only thing thats not stock on bike that i know of is open header exhaust (no baffles/mufflers) but again just bought bike but looks factory. With the open exhaust do i possibly need a bigger jet on carb? Also noticed the metal cap still in place over the A/F adjusting screw so it doesnt look like anybody has been in there...do i possibly need to adjust the mix?

Thanks for any insight!

Old 07-12-2012, 09:18 PM
run1fsr
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 66 Likes on 44 Posts

1) When you cleaned the carburetor did you perform rebuild? If not I would buy a rebuild kit on EBay and just do it.

2) Search this site for carburetor mixture how-to. If the lead plug on the mixture screw is there, the mixture has not been touched.

3) Having owned several Sportsters, my personal opinion is they run like chit with open exhaust / no baffles. Many on this site will say I’m wrong and tell you different but that is my .02 cents.