Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Popping out of 1st gear

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2012 | 09:07 PM
ZX2BY2U
|
Cruiser
Default Popping out of 1st gear

I'm having problems with my '01 XL1200C popping in & out of first gear on take-off. It happens about 1/3 of the time now. I take off smoothly, and as torque builds it feels like it's popping out of gear and back into gear very quickly and harshly. Usually several times in the space of a second or two. It feels as though it spools up as it's disengaged so when it pops back into gear, it hits with a real hard surge. Not fun when turning into traffic from a stop! I'm suspecting either damaged shift forks or broken 1st gear teeth. I'm not experienced with transmissions though. Anyone else had this type of problem or clues to the cause? Any help would be much appreciated.

Old 06-25-2012 | 09:26 PM
JonFMJ
Cruiser

How many miles are on it and is it the factory clutch and springs? Does it do it in any other gear? I've never experienced this on a bike but had it happen to a car of mine a while back. After replacing the pressure plate and clutch the problem stopped. Also does it grind or anything while changing gears or putting it into first? Is the transmission fluid levels up and filled with proper fluids. I know it's alot of dumb questions but hoping its something cheap for ya.

Old 06-26-2012 | 06:34 AM
grbrown
Club Member

I can't imagine a condition that would give what you describe. However you obviously have something that needs prompt attention. We can analyse on here, but the only way you are going to get a useful answer is to visit a dealer or indy and get them to check your bike for you, so they can experience what it is doing first hand.

Old 06-26-2012 | 07:56 AM
1984_FXRT
Road Captain

From the symptoms you describe, I can think of a few things that may be contributing: