Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shifting Help

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2012, 11:37 AM
Bbrown18
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting Help

Ok So I'm a total newbie and I just bought my first bike, an 06 XL 1200 Custom with 2800 miles on it. I'm gonna be taking the motorcycle safety course this weekend but I was hoping to ride at least a little before I went to the course so I wouldn't look too stupid. I got the bike out and tried to ride it and I couldn't even get it out of the drive way. I can't seem to get the feel for the clutch. I start to let off the clutch and ease on the throttle and I kill it every time. What am I doing wrong?? I've driven nearly everything with wheels from tractors to fork lifts to semis and my daily driver is a Jeep that is 5 speed manual so I understand the clutch I just can't seem to get the feel for this one. Also, I guess because I have driven so many other vehicles the clutch with the hand shift with the foot just seems backwards and is giving me trouble. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Old 05-29-2012, 11:43 AM
sioux565
Road Warrior
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

That's weird. You really need to give it little throttle to keep it from dying, unless you are just throwing the clutch out and not easing it out. Maybe your clutch is out of adjustment?

Old 05-29-2012, 11:45 AM
rooti
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts