Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My First DIY 1000 Mile Service

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2012 | 10:22 AM
Shortdawg72
|
Advanced
Default My First DIY 1000 Mile Service

I have been riding street bikes off and on for 24 years now. My last sportster I had for eight years. I have always performed or attempted to perform my own repaars and modifications to not only my motorcycles but to to my vehicles as well. I am a shade tree mechanic with 6 years industrial maintenance experience. I recently traded in my '04 1200 for a '12 1200, "72" model. With my previous bike I had changed the oil a couple of times but I had never performed the 1K, 5K, or 10K service. My budget is a lot tighter than it used to be so I decided to perform the 1000 mile service myself. At the local dealer I picked up four quarts of synthetic motor oil, a new filter and a tube of Harley lube (for the clutch cable). The parts guy said it would take almost three quarts of oil for the engine and he was right. When I asked for synthetic clutch/primary fluid he handed me the fourth quart of syn motor oil. The engine oil change was straight forward. For the clutch/primary fluid change I cut the side out of an empty quart bottle and drained the fluid in there (for measuring purposes). Almost exactcly a quart came out so I simply removed the primary inspection cover, made a home made funnel and put a quart back in through the inspection cover. Lubricating the clutch cable was very simple with the little needle shaped applicator that the lube came in. I was hoping the transmission would shift with less clunk after changing to synthetic but it's still clunky. Any recommendations for a clutch/primary fluid?
Total parts cost was around $71.

Old 05-14-2012 | 11:26 AM
pointdogg48
Tourer

thanks for the write up. I just did my engine oil a couple weeks ago and gonna do the Primary oil this weekend.