Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to forum and new to Harleys

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2012, 10:07 PM
paidin
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to forum and new to Harleys

Hello, I have been reading through the informative posts in this forum to try to familiarize myself with the Sportsters so that I can make an informed decision when I buy one. Well yesterday I picked up my first Harley Davidson. It is a 2006 XL883C with the following mods and accessories:

Screamin Eagle conversion big bore kit
Bolt in cams
Upgraded ignition
Mikuni 42mm carburetor
Screamin Eagle SE A/C KIT, XL '04+
Screamin Eagle Exhaust
Chrome engine XL kit
Saddle Bags

Now I do not claim to know what half of this stuff is or means but I am still learning and will one day know what it is that I am actually riding. The bike itself is great and has tons more power than the bike that I have been riding for the past ten years, a ninja 250. I never thought I could actually find a REAL bike that I could handle but sitting on a Sportster super low in the show room made me realize that even though the Sportster is twice as heavy as my ninja 250, the center of gravity is such that the Sportster is actually easier for me to balance. On top of that, its fun to ride and puts a big smile on my face every time I turn it on!

If you guys know anything about the components in my bike, I would appreciate any knowledge you can throw my way!

Thanks!

Old 04-06-2012, 10:24 PM
Curt1953
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 97 Likes on 77 Posts

Nice ride, Oh and welcome to the madness of HDForums from Ohio.

Old 04-06-2012, 10:32 PM
Wakko47
Road Warrior
Received 72 Likes on 58 Posts