Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

(Hopefully) Easy Sportster Carb Tuning Question

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2012, 01:10 PM
HalifaxBill
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default (Hopefully) Easy Sportster Carb Tuning Question

Hey all,

I'm sitting here preplanning the things I'll attempt to do to my Sporty closer to spring, and on reading the excellent instructions on performance tuning (http://www.harley-performance.com/ha...FQUUKgod3HhFOQ), I come up with hopefully a simple question:

How many turns out can you perform to the mixture screw without it coming out? (Which I believe leads to installing bigger jets). I'm a fairly decent puttering mechanic, but losing the internal springs behind that screw sounds a bit beyond basics!

And the reason for me touching it at all is carb farting (lean). Moreso after blowing money on the K&N Kit.

Thanks!
Bill

Old 01-26-2012, 03:01 PM
mrfikser
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts

do you mean falling out???probably 5-6 whole turns...but you should never have to go that far..if you turn it out another whole turn (maximum) and it does not fix the problem, it never will... just give the screw a 1/8 turn and see if it gets better, if not do it again, keep doing it until the idle gets worse then turn it back in a 1/4 turn or almost until it starts to slow alittle...just never screw the screw in tight ( it will mess the screw up)

Old 01-26-2012, 04:12 PM
chappy99
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

what mrfisker said is right,if you need a starting point turn in all the way then come out
2 1/2 turns and work from their,you might have trouble getting it right where its so cold.

Old 01-26-2012, 04:18 PM
Nailz
Tourer
Received 101 Likes on 49 Posts

This is just my experience: