Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sporster Choke

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2011, 12:26 AM
ATX Sportster
Stage I
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sporster Choke

I have a 2005 Sportster 1200XLC and I just got my 15K tune up, and when I make a full stop, with engine at normal riding temp, when I release the clutch and turn the throttle the I get a puttering/choking feels like its running out of fuel, no forward movement, if I throttle more it back fires then rev's normally, this happens each time I make a full stop and only after the engine is warm. I am new to riding and I would like some feedback on how to fix this problem.

Old 07-31-2011, 05:07 AM
Bagger Jim
Club Member
Received 15 Likes on 9 Posts

Sounds like you've got a little crap in the carb. Pilot jet might be partially clogged. Those carbs are relatively easy to work on. You can run a cleaner through it without dis assembly and it might work, or you can pull the float bowl and clean the jets. Check on You tube for some vids on the operation.

Old 07-31-2011, 06:27 AM
primostoy
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Smile

Originally Posted by ATX Sportster
I have a 2005 Sportster 1200XLC and I just got my 15K tune up, and when I make a full stop, with engine at normal riding temp, when I release the clutch and turn the throttle the I get a puttering/choking feels like its running out of fuel, no forward movement, if I throttle more it back fires then rev's normally, this happens each time I make a full stop and only after the engine is warm. I am new to riding and I would like some feedback on how to fix this problem.