Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dying battery

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2011, 07:32 AM
slipvayne9278
Advanced
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Dying battery

So i have a new problem, please bear with me as i am a noob and dont know these bikes too well, problem started this morning, rode my bike to work, came outside this mornmorning to leave and the battery did not have enough amps to crank the engine, so i pop started it(which by the way is not easy as a rice rocket) started and drove home(which is about 15 mins) with no issues, now that tells me the alternator is still good(if im wrong please tell me) got home and check what i know to check, as far as i can tell, charged battery, started up, had a multimeter on battery while giving it gas no change in voltage, so this means the battery is not being charged, so there must be a wire loose correct or corroded, or broken? The problem is, i dont know where to look, please help im not too smart with this stuff and have no more money to dump into it at the moment, if you could supply pictures that would be great(my bike is a 1991 sportster 1200cc) thanks guys

Old 07-10-2011, 08:31 AM
XTsHOG
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Do you have a Service Manual as it has a wealth of info for testing components.
Are the leads to the battery solid and clean?
What voltage are you getting with the bike not running? What voltage once bike is going? Crank it to 2000+ rpm, what voltage then?
Take off neg cable and put a meter on the cable and neg battery post. You should not be getting more than 3.0 mA if you are then something is draining the battery. Of course everything is off when you test it. If it's draining you got to check all connections.
That should be a start.
Somebody else will pipe in.

Old 07-10-2011, 09:11 AM
diablo666
Road Master