Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

My Sporty Story...

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2011, 02:25 PM
GN LEE
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default My Sporty Story...

A story for you guys in celebration of all HD's and especially the Sporty.

So, after years of having the urge and doing nothing about it, I finally got my permit a little over 2 years ago on a Thursday. On the Saturday, I went to my local HD dealership with the intention of "just browsing". I walked out about 2 hours later with a brand new Iron. Needless to say, it was love at first sight.

Having never ridden a bike, the dealership delivered it on the following Tuesday. I started riding it in my neighborhood, only in 1st gear at the start. I was so slow, the local kids on their BMX's were passing me fist pumping!! Eventually 2nd gear came, and then the rest. I put on about 500 self taught miles (in February, in PA!!!!) around town before my safety course came around in the Spring. I passed that, getting my full license.

Now on my Iron I have nearly 8000 miles and have done some great trips, including a 550 mile round trip to the PA Grand Canyons, there and back in one day with my buddies!!! I was deaf, sun burnt, no sense of smell, had tinnitus and back ache for about 4 days afterwards - but it was well worth it!

This year I decided I wanted more. I love my Iron, but I wanted more. I wanted a rear seat (for my wife), louder pipes, mini apes, forward controls, most of all, I wanted more torque!

I had grand ideas for my Iron and had about 5k budgeted. More than enough to get everything I needed. I did all my custom parts research and decided upon what my custom Iron was gonna look like!