Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MY '09 IRON 883 Sucking Gas a lot!

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2011, 11:42 AM
IRON883Man
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy MY '09 IRON 883 Sucking Gas a lot!

HI everyone, I'm new to the forum. I just bought an 09 IRON 883 couple of weeks ago..(use to ride Yamaha R6 before). I noticed the bike really sucks on gas. I filled up the tank -3.3 Gallons (up till the top), The fuel Light came on at 39 mile mark, and I got 10 extra miles with that 0.8 gallon reserve.( I noticed this, as I barely pulled in to the gas station )I do ride in washington DC with all the traffic ,but ther's got to be some problem with it. I even checked if something is leaking( everything looks good).

It has 4600 miles on it. And also "Screeming eagle exhaust". I'm new to working on the bike myself, but I have a friend who can help. Please share your knowledge about the problem. Gas mileage is worst than driving my SUV.

Any suggestions are very much appreciated.

Thanks !!

Old 03-11-2011, 11:46 AM
wahlumsurfer
Road Master

Were you sputtering and coughing on the way in the gas station, or was it only the gas lamp that lit up?

It's a common issue that the gas lamp comes on prematurely.

Old 03-11-2011, 12:14 PM
kahaone
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You said you filled up, and put 3.3 gallons in your bike. Then at 39 miles the fuel light came on. Then, 10 miles later you "barely pulled into the gas station".

OK, 1st....when you put 3.3 gallons of gas into your bike. Are you certain of that amount??? Because I have never seen anyone actually manage to put 3.3 gallons in their tank.
2nd....the fuel light is junk, don't rely on it too much.
3rd...explain what "barely made into the gas station" 10 miles later. Sputtering and not running?? Or did you just assume that you needed to be worried?

OK, now the $64,000 question......