Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2011, 10:08 AM
Jrock1062
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Helmet

Hello All

I am new to riding and just bought my first bike a 2011 Nightster my question I have is what helmet do you use and which would you recommend for me a new rider J thanks in advance for all the help

Old 03-07-2011, 10:38 AM
inswva
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Best bet would be to hit up a local motorcycle shop and try on a bunch of lids. The metric shops usually have a pretty good selection. You'll be able to find something that fits your head, is aesthetically pleasing to you, and fits your budget.

I'm almost certain this thread will turn ugly before long though. There is a lot of "debate" amongst the members of this forum regarding which type of helmet they prefer and would recommend. Only you can decide if you want a 1/2, 3/4, full face, modular, etc.

My own personal helmets are a HJC IS-16 full face and a HJC SyMax II modular. I like them both very much because they meet *my* needs.

Old 03-07-2011, 10:56 AM
eviltwin415
Tourer

This guy's crazy don't listen to him, he has no idea what he is talking about. My helmet is the best. It's the only helmet anyone should wear.

Old 03-07-2011, 10:59 AM
BINGO53
Intermediate

+1 on above.
Shop, shop, shop ! While in the shop, put a helmet on and wear it while you continue to look at others. Definitely do not buy "blind" from internet. You will find sizes are not consistent manufacturer to manufacturer. Do a little online reading as to how a helmet should fit. As to type, thats up to you.

Do a little googling and read up as to how a helmet should fit.

After using above method, I found an HJC 3/4 that fits me well enough that I often forget I have it on.