Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New Handlebar Wiring question.

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2011, 07:52 PM
hdnewb
Stage II
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Handlebar Wiring question.

Hey guys, I am going to take on the big task of swapping out my handlebars. I have an 09 iron, se stage 1 and V&h Shortshots w/fuelpak installed all mods i did myself which were not to difficult to do. I bought La Chopper Z drag style bars ;the end rise is 2.75" compared to the stock at just slighty over 3", so i figure i can use my brake/throttle/clutch lines. I do however want to do internal wiring. I am not good with electrical work, so i am going to have a buddy do the soldering. I was just wondering what gauge wiring should i buy or which have you guys used, is it better to heat shrink or crimp. I do have my service manual all my tools ready. Ill post pics before and after...IF I DONT screw it up lol. any other tips would be helpful, i am just nervious about the wiring. thanks

Old 03-01-2011, 08:26 PM
sorensentyler
Road Captain
Received 121 Likes on 68 Posts

why don't you just use your stock wiring? i did this mod too. i have 12" ape hangers. i had to drill all the holes myself. it is really hard to mess up if you use stock wiring. everything is colored. as for crimping or shrink wrap. i went with shrink wrap. peace of mind, after soldering the wiring back together shrink wrap it, then wrap electrical tape all round it. good luck!

Old 03-02-2011, 12:17 AM
sajackson
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

All the handlebar wires run under the gas tank to something like a deutsch connector. you can de-pin these and wont need to cut any wires.