Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anybody done any frame mods? I have questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2011, 06:19 AM
guitarman023
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anybody done any frame mods? I have questions

so, I think I do want to stick with my stock frame, seems to be the most cost effective solution. Here is exactly what I want to do

The whole reason for this is I'm 6'4'', I need more room, and eventually a bigger motor. I'd like to do an arched backbone, but I don't feel comfortable in messing with the neck of the bike, I'm a good welder, but I don't want to modify the neck if I can help it. I'm just wondering if anyone has done this before on here, if they could give me some tips on where I should cut it.

Old 02-08-2011, 06:45 AM
mreed
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

The only tubes you'd be able to leave straight is the bottom. Going up 4 and out 4 will essentially take the neck diagonally up & out from where it is.

Your front lower and front upper motor mounts will need to be extended.

Why not just cut the neck off & extend it there?

Old 02-08-2011, 08:15 AM
kahaone
Road Master
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I had my frame done sort of like what you want. I didn't do it myself, but had a shop do it for me. They cut it right in front of the jugs and added a 4" extention in there. Then they cut in under the seat and put in an angled piece there. Since I didn't want to extend it much, there wasn't much under the seat except a small angled piece, just so the backbone met the downtubes. It came out good, and yes, as mreed said, the motor mounts needed to be extended. The bottom of my frame was not touched though.
I am pretty happy with the way mine turned out, but kind of wish I had gone up 6" instead of 4", and maybe did a 2" backbone stretch to it.

Old 02-08-2011, 08:20 AM
guitarman023
Road Master