Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

carb, idle, octane

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2006 | 02:35 AM
ionate
|
Road Captain
Default carb, idle, octane

I'm new to street riding and to Harley's, so I have a newbie question regarding the idle speed, back firing, octane and overall power.

I purchased a used '04 883 Sportster a few months ago. The bike already had the Stage 1 mod and SE slipons added to it.

After taking it in for the 1k mile check up, I noticed that they adjusted the bike to idle a lot slower than when I took it in. (In other words, when I got the bike back it took a while to get use to the fact that it's not going to die out when waiting at a light but that it just had that nice, slow, Harley idle.) I'm not sure how slow/fast these bikes should be idling (it doesn't have a tach), but it sounded as if it was adjusted to idle as low as possible. I figured this may be a normal adjustment after a bike's initial break in period (didn't think to call and ask, just figured it was normal).

The bike still had what appears to be normal carb farting problems (H-D said this was natural for the stock carb?), as well as occasional muffler back fires. No problems with power on the low end, but it seems as if the top end power was not all there (perhaps this is also bc it's an 883- you tell me!), and the backfiring really bugged me.

Now, 1000 miles later (2k total), it seems to be idling at the higher speed once again, still with the seemingly more often than it should backfire.

My first question is - what would cause the idle speed to change if I haven't made any adustments myself, using the same gas, etc? I haven't had the chance to research this until now, but I'm also wondering if any of this is related to my bike backfiring (from the muffler, not the carb) even after it's been warmed up?