Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Handlebar installation

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2011, 10:47 AM
mattieJ
Club Member
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Exclamation Handlebar installation

So, I'm new to the bike world and have little-to-no idea how long things take to do. I am however a very competent software developer and know that things can take a lot longer to program than people think. So I understand that from the outside things that look very simply sometimes aren't.

That being said I almost wet myself when my dealer told me it would take 8 hours to install handlebars on my Forty-Eight. I wanted to buy the RSD Vintage Short Stacks and have the mirrors mounted as they are on the current handlebars, underneath.

Can anyone comment on the amount of labor involved in changing handlebars?

They quoted 1.5 hours for exhaust, which I thought was a bit high, but is well within reason since I can't do it myself. Honestly it's what I expected for handlebars as well.

Old 01-06-2011, 10:56 AM
ironhide_uk
Tourer
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I've not fitted a set of these but I would say save ya money and do it your self, save the cash and buy more parts lol
It's always the way, things which look easy take hours and things which look Like hours of work take 5 mins to finish lol
I've been looking at a set of RSD Vintage Short Stacks, so would also like to know time scales for fitting these

Last edited by ironhide_uk; 01-06-2011 at 11:08 AM.
Old 01-06-2011, 11:00 AM
mattieJ
Club Member
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by ironhide_uk
I've not fitted a set of these but I would say save ya money and do it your self, save the cash and buy more parts lol
Haha, I'd love to... sounds like I found myself a project

Old 01-06-2011, 11:05 AM
HERE
Road Warrior
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts