Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Exhaust Performance

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2010 | 11:39 AM
HBRHMR
|
Cruiser
Default Exhaust Performance

Before anyone flames me for another exhaust thread, let me preface by saying I have read through a large amount of the 10 pages of threads that result from an "exhaust" title search in the forums.

On that note, almost everything I found was an opinion and I prefer numbers.

I am purchasing an 883 within the next month or two with the intention of eventually converting it up to a 1200 or 1250. I am most likely going with an Arlen Ness Derby Sucker and I will also be getting a tuner though I'm not sure which yet. As I am relatively new to the riding world I welcome and value everyone's input as long as it is supported by some sort of evidence.

I'm looking for an exhaust that is loud (not obnoxious) and deep that performs. Price is not an issue.

After 10 pages, I have read multiple people saying that (insert brand here) is the best. The only real consensus I feel I've come across is that I should go with a 2:1 for performance. I want to have real good take off/torque from a stop. At the high end as long as I can cruise comfortably without over-revving I will be straight; I don't plan on hitting the triple digits as I've heard some people doing.

Does anyone have, or can point me in the direction of before/after dyno curves of a sporty with a new exhaust or information from manufacturers about the gains I should expect before I start calling each one of them?

Thanks!

Old 11-23-2010 | 12:05 PM
TennesseeMustangPerf
Elite HDF Member