Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New hear, tranny issues.

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2010, 11:36 AM
bmccord
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New here, tranny issues.

Hello all, I am new to the H-D world as I have been a car guy up until a few months ago when I decided to get back into riding. That said I picked up an 02 Sportster 883R that was converted to a 1200. In the last couple days I have noticed that it is hard to get it into neutral once warmed up and sometimes when it does go into neutral, the N light doesn't even come on. In addition to that, while upshifting into 2nd or 3rd it will not go into gear. Instead it will just pop out of gear into what appears to be neutral. I have to drop down to the lower gear and give it a little stank to get it up to the next gear. I am thinking changing to tranny oil first maybe to a snyth of some kind and see if that helps. I will not be riding in temps below 40 or so if that helps figuring out an oil type or weight.

Any idea? I did search around a bit but didn't come across anything specific to my situation.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by bmccord; 10-18-2010 at 11:45 AM.
Old 10-18-2010, 11:44 AM
bmccord
1st Gear

oops, forgot to set my account to auto subscribe...just subscribing.

Old 10-18-2010, 11:51 AM
WRAITH
Road Warrior
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Sounds like a clutch problem. First thing to do is get a service manual. It really helps.

Old 10-18-2010, 11:52 AM
DR. V-TWIN
Former Sponsor
Received 39 Likes on 38 Posts

How about adjusting the clutch and changing the oil? That might help.

Drew

Old 10-18-2010, 11:58 AM
bmccord
1st Gear