Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bone-jarring potholes...

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2010, 08:45 PM
MapleShadeHarley
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bone-jarring potholes...

Hi,

I just bought a 2009 Nightster with 70 miles and I really love it. Traded it for my 98 Jeep Wrangler and was happy with the deal. I am new to riding and am getting pretty comfortable on two wheels. Took the Rider's Edge course and did well in it. I really love riding and have put on 200+ miles in the last week.

Ok, here is the background: I have a stock Nightster and I weigh about 200lbs (very solid musclehead) and am 5'7". I liked the Nightster cause my feet could be flat on the ground due to being vertically challenged and it was a 1200.

Problem: whenever I hit potholes/bumps/manhole covers, the absolute jarring of my whole body (if I didn't see it and wasn't able to take up the slack by rising off the seat) and the bike is RIDICULOUS. The bike has 300 miles on it now. I realize it has to "settle" and then at about 1,000 miles take it in for the stealer to make necessary adjustments.

Ok, I know I need to be looking out for these things and avoiding them, but I feel like I am ready to be bounced off the freakin' bike. Am I too heavy for this bike? Do I need to get better shocks for it? Do I trade up and get a HD that is bigger and can absorb these gut-wrenching issues? Is it me?

Everyone told me when I bought my bike that I should have bought my second bike first. Is this what they mean?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

John

Old 10-10-2010, 08:54 PM
Jesla
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 199 Likes on 128 Posts

You've only got a little over an inch of suspension travel in the rear. Upgrading shocks will help but you really need longer shocks. The down side is they will slightly raise the bike.