Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Well... I did it (new Forty-Eight purchase...)

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2010, 08:03 PM
SgtThump
Road Warrior
Received 57 Likes on 44 Posts
Default Well... I did it (new Forty-Eight purchase...)

My quick background story is that I started riding a few years back. I started off with a '95 Dynaglide Custom, then traded that up to the Road King Custom you see in my sig the next year.

I sold my Road King Custom a few months back when I started the divorce process, because a) I didn't know if I could afford it and b) I didn't want the added stress of dealing with the bike while finding and moving into an apartment.

My divorce was final last week and of course, I've been thinking REALLY hard about another bike. As many of you know, that divorce crap is the worst thing most people will ever experience. I figured I deserved something big that represents a new future. Thus, BIKE TIME!

I wanted something totally opposite of the Road King. I test rode a few bikes and the new Forty-Eight Sportster won out. I knew the second I hopped on it that it was a good bike for me.

So anyway... I was a little scared to do it, but I went ahead today and purchased a new 2011 Forty-Eight in black. I'll ride it home tomorrow while I'm waiting for the stage 1 parts to come in.

Attached is a picture in it's stock form with the "sold" sticker on the seat.

I'm having them install a Ness "Big Sucker" air cleaner, Cobra EFI management thing, and Vance and Hines "Blackout" 2-1 exhaust. I bet that **** is going to SCREAM. I also bet it's going to look kickass with that exhaust! The bike already looks low and long and that longer exhaust is bound to compliment that.

I couldn't get over how fun it was to ride. Alot quicker and "punchier" than the big cadillac Road King.