Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Performance Question 2007 XL50 Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2006, 12:16 AM
sportin_2007
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Performance Question 2007 XL50 Sportster

Hello people...

New to the forum and new to Sportsters. Perhaps some of you can help with my little dilemma. I recently purchased a 07 XL50 Sportster 1200, and I desperately want to upgrade this bike for added horsepower. I have broken the bike in, performed the first service at 1000 miles, and have since bagged another 1000 miles on it since. I am new to Sportsters and after a 16 year hiatus from riding, I am missing the performance and horsepower I had from my old scooter. The biggest problem I am having is that the local dealers (2) have no anticipation of performance upgrades or more so, when they might be coming from the Motor Company until a few months pass. I am told the bike will not require an intake change (such as stage 1), but that it will likely require a performance chip (upgrade) and new exhaust in order to achieve some gain?

What I am seeking is more than tuned pipes, and an air cleaner. I want to delve into a balanced performance monster where I can still street cruise this putter, but want a radical camshaft, decent horsepower gains, and an awesome set of pipes that announce my arrival from blocks away. I love the fuel injection EVO, but want more than a 10hp upgrade while still keeping this running in reliable fashion. Can anyone shed some light on stage 1 / stage 2 upgrades for the 2007 models, and what’s all in this chip upgrade? The dealer said that adding pipes to this sporty will only result in popping and farting until there is a revised chip for the bikes EFI system.