Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

engine light stays on while riding 1200S

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2010, 10:46 AM
harleytwodogs
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine light stays on while riding 1200S

Hi Everyone I am new to all this so please bear with me as I need some help please with a problem I am having...can anyone help with a problem that has just occurred after getting my 1200s out for the first time after the winter , the only thing that has changed is that I fitted a new screaming eagle coil and spark plugs. What is happening is that after switching on the ignition and turning the kill switch to run the red engine light comes on for about 5 seconds or so and then goes off like it is supposed to do I Think , but when I go out on the road the engine light comes on and goes off now and again but mostly it stays on, is there anyone who has had or come across this problem and knows how to cure it .

Regards Mo

Last edited by harleytwodogs; 04-07-2010 at 11:07 AM.
Old 04-07-2010, 02:42 PM
SportyPig
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

I'm not familar with the 1200s model. However, I would suggest looking up the diagnostic code from the odometer. There are instructions on doing this as a sticky on the top of the page.

Old 04-08-2010, 04:26 AM
harleytwodogs
4th Gear

Thanks for that.... but I have just been and had a look at that but it said that it will only apply to 04` 05` bikes and I forgot to say That Mine is a 1999 1200 sportster sport any other idea`s are really welcome. cheers, Mo

Old 04-08-2010, 04:50 AM
cHarley
Club Member
Received 302 Likes on 231 Posts

Originally Posted by harleytwodogs
Thanks for that.... but I have just been and had a look at that but it said that it will only apply to 04` 05` bikes and I forgot to say That Mine is a 1999 1200 sportster sport any other idea`s are really welcome. cheers, Mo