Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

seat and bars

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2010, 04:45 PM
Good Time Gang
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default seat and bars

i posted in the general chat yesterday about getting to know my bike. there were a few suggestions and i thought this would be the best place to follow up. I am 6'2" 220lb. riding my 94 xlh is only comfy for so long. it has the forward controls, but i cant stretch out unless i sit on the back/passenger pad. at that point the bars become even more uncomfortable. what type of mini apes and seat would move me back a few inches and help me stretch out. i am new to all of this, and this is my first bike, so feel free to speak very loud and slowly

Old 03-28-2010, 05:19 PM
Stefan
Road Master
Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

Seats to move you back are over $200 if you can find a comfy one.
Do you have forward foot controls? If you just want to stretch now & again & don't need the controls then highway pegs may help.
Rotating your bars may help your position. Apes may require $$$ for brake, cluth & throtle cables along with $70 for the bars. You can find risers that will move your current bars back, if the width and hand angle of the current bars is not a problem, they may still need new control cables.
Spending $$$ for suspension can help the ride, if you are not more concerned about looks.

Old 03-28-2010, 06:53 PM
Good Time Gang
Tourer

has forward controls on it already. just feel like tight being all jammed up. test road a WG the other day, that felt much better. the bars were higher and there seemed to be more leg room.

Old 03-28-2010, 08:17 PM
Stefan
Road Master
Received 21 Likes on 17 Posts

Originally Posted by Good Time Gang