Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie looking at Sportster

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2006, 12:53 AM
gman697
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie looking at Sportster

Hey guys, just joined the forum and looking for advice. Ive recently been looking at Harley's and have become interested all of a sudden? Havent really been in to Cycles much, muscle cars have always been my thing. But anyway I was looking at the Sportster 1200 Low today. Very sharp bike. Im a small guy at only 130lbs and 5'6 in height, so I figured any Sportster would fit me pretty well. I have ridden a dirt bike once, always owned a ATV. So yea you can say im pretty new to the bike world. Havent been to my local dealership yet but I was wondering how much money would it take to get one of these out of the dealership, average? I know it ranges and need to test ride it first. Thanks!

Old 06-13-2006, 01:11 AM
XL OCD
Road Warrior
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Newbie looking at Sportster

Depending upon where you're at, you can sometimes get them a little below MSRP. I'd try for MSRP and $1000 in store credit. Gives you a good deal and the dealership's like that option. I didn't pay Setup/Freight either w/ that deal.

Old 06-13-2006, 01:41 AM
mikeisglidn
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

a new one is nice, but there are a crapload of sportys around with a couple thousand miles on em, whos owners moved on to another ride, or got scared and decided to sell their new ride, check out ebay or cycletrader, and you may save a couple grand.
they are very cool rides...........good luck

Old 06-13-2006, 07:24 AM
whaap
Extreme HDF Member
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

Mike is right. I bought My 05 1200 C on eBay. It had 1300 miles on it and I figure the original owner lost over 4,000.00 on the deal.