Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help please

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2009 | 10:37 PM
Leasure81
|
4th Gear
Default Help please

I recently purchased a 1995 sportster and have made a few minor modifications. One of them was installling a larger pilot jet (46 I believe) and main jet (175). I went the easy way and just pulled the bottom off the carb. I am not an amazing mechanic by any means, but I thought I could handle this. After I put it all back together, it seemed to run decent. I probably still needed to adjust the idle mixer better. The next day I went to start it and it just didn't want to go. Eventually it did start, but kept bogging down and died. This happened a couple times.....until my battery died. I only messed with the bottom of the carb. Does anyone have any advice for me? Your help would be GREATLY appreciated.

Old 08-23-2009 | 12:02 AM
stng_96
Road Master

Would it set there and idle at all? Did you adjust the mixture screw at all?

Old 08-23-2009 | 12:36 AM
Bentwrench
Cruiser
Default 95 Sportster

883 or 1200? Stock exhaust or open after-market? Air filter - is it clean? Plugs - how many miles?

What was wrong with it before you changed jets?

Old 08-23-2009 | 01:27 AM
Leasure81
|
4th Gear