Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Can oil be too cool?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2009, 03:05 PM
Fire4Effect
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Can oil be too cool?

I'm thinking about adding an oil cooler for my Sportster, but some riders have said that there might be problems if the temp is too low. Since I'm not a bike expert, I thought I'd bring it to you guys. Thanks.

Old 07-18-2009, 03:19 PM
midnight2005
Banned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

no, i say do it.

Old 07-18-2009, 04:03 PM
Simon UK
Tourer

I guess the fact that you are thinking of adding an oil cooler indicates that you think that you currently have problems with the oil being too hot. That being the case, go ahead and add one. If you're not having problems, don't bother. I am a strong believer in the old adage "If it ain't broke, don't fix it".

Old 07-18-2009, 05:54 PM
tinman67
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Try an oil temp dipstick first to see if you need and oil cooler (it's a lot cheaper). The question of can the oil be too cool applies to running in cold weather. The answer there is yes. Colder engine and oil temps can cause condenstion in the oil. Different oil weight can be used to keep the oil temp up and Harley reccomends oil changes at 1k when running in cold weather. Not so much a problem if you run long enough trips to get the engine up to temp.

Old 07-18-2009, 06:01 PM
cHarley
Club Member
Received 302 Likes on 231 Posts

Originally Posted by tinman67