Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

best way to clean a bike?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2006, 11:59 AM
mastasnyper
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default best way to clean a bike?

I'm new to the harley group so i apologize in advance for alot of questions to come. To start of with, whats the best cleaning agent and way to clean a 06 sportster custom? FOr chrome and paint?

Old 05-15-2006, 02:03 PM
bensonjv
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Default RE: best way to clean a bike?

No question here is stupid. You might get some ribbing for being the one millionth person to ask about slip-on muffler suggestions or something but no one will ever seriously get on your case for questions. That's why we're all here to help and be helped.

You'll get a lot of answers for this one.

After a few rides or as things start to get dirty, I use Harley spray cleaner/polish for spot cleaning/touch-ups. I think any spray cleaner/polish will work. Its begun to get harder using just that since I have more bug death stuck to things. Once its beyond the simple spray and wipe I have to graduate to the heavy cleaning.

For heavy cleaning I've been wetting the bike down, pretreating bug guts and road grit with Orange Clean and then going over the bike with sponges and mild detergent/water mix. I use warm water mostly. Rinse with a hose. Use a blower of compressor to blow most of water out of tight spots. Then do a once over with the spray cleaner/polish until its shiny again. That's it until, like I said, after a few rides it gets dirty again.

Old 05-15-2006, 02:32 PM
purefire572
Intermediate

"No question here is stupid. You might get some ribbing for being the one millionth person to ask about slip-on muffler suggestions or something but no one will ever seriously get on your case for questions. That's why we're all here to help and be helped."