Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Washing the iron

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2009, 08:39 AM
Mattyboy
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Washing the iron

Hey everyone. I got my iron two days ago and its time to clean her. Just need to know best soap, cloths and drying cloths? Also which soap for flat black parts and which soap for all others? Thanks so much

Old 06-03-2009, 08:43 AM
brettnbama
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

grab yourself a Mr. Clean auto dry car wash kit....

Old 06-03-2009, 08:47 AM
Mattyboy
Intermediate

Thats good for everything? I've never used it before so do you have to hand dry after? thanks bro

Old 06-03-2009, 09:05 AM
brettnbama
Ultimate HDF Member

no you don't have to hand dry, depending on how dirty the bike is, after you spray the soap on, you may have to use a sponge, but after you rinse the soap off, you set the little gun to spot free rinse and it literally chases the water off. I just got it and washed my SRT8 Charger, which is a black pearl paint, in the sun.....I did not hand dry and it had NO waterspots. If it worked that well on that paint, the flat colors of the Iron should be good. I haven't used it on the wife's iron yet, but I was really impressed with the results on my Charger. I haven't needed to wash the Road King since I got it, but I plan to give it a shot on that too......

EDIT: not having to hand dry the paint will help you not get the "shiny spots" that you can sometimes get on the denim paint from too much rubbing....

Last edited by brettnbama; 06-03-2009 at 09:07 AM.
Old 06-03-2009, 09:11 AM
beanerblank
Tourer