Sportster Models 883, 883 Custom, 1200 Custom, 883L, 1200L, 1200S, 1200 Roadster, XR1200, and the Nightster.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I was told riding 1200n over 70mph is bad for small bike

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 02:41 PM
ddtt
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I was told riding 1200n over 70mph is bad for small bike

I was talking to a guy today that said people who ride the 1200 sportsters and worse 883's at over 70 mph for sustained periods are over working the small motor and isn't good long term for them. He went on to say that the bike is barely acceptable for riding in town and is a bad choice for anything other than that. He kind of put me in a down mood cause I was leaning toward the 1200n over the bobs. He asked what I knew about harleys, I said I am new to them. He chuckled and said "obviously you must not know much about harleys because if you did you'd know that a 1200 sportster can't run for periods at 70 or above, that's why they only have 5 speeds, and said they are for kids or newbies". Then he said to me that he felt they were very slow in general. I asked if he owned one, he said he never did, because he they were not enough for him. I asked what he rode, he said a low rider dyna. He came across like a jerk, and as I said really put down the sportster. So, now I am not sure what the hell to do. He was laughing at the idea of me using it for some light packing trips. I felt kind of dumb for even mentioning I wanted a 1200n after this guy opened his mouth at the showroom. He walked away laughing and said
"sportsters are nice to ride to the movie rental store and rent a movie and come back home, that's all their good for". No one around us heard him, but he sure did put down the sportster. What the heck gives????

Old 04-15-2009, 02:53 PM
DIESEL72
Intermediate

he's an idiot, forget everything he said. he's the one who doesnt know anything about bikes. and definetly not hogs

Old 04-15-2009, 02:59 PM
MacAttack
Tourer